A chance at a once in a lifetime opportunity for community funding

Member for Cootamundra Katrina Hodgkinson has called on local councils, businesses and community groups to help fulfil their infrastructure wish lists following the launch of a landmark new grants scheme.

The “once-in-a-generation” Stronger Country Communities Fund will support projects valued between $100,000 and $1 million, or even higher with financial co-contribution. Applications are being accepted for the first stage, which is open to applications from the Weddin Shire Government area.

Katrina said the Stronger Country Communities Fund marked an historic opportunity for locals to share in millions of dollars and make local towns and villages “more vibrant places to live and work”.  “The Stronger Country Communities Fund will build new parks, playgrounds and pathways and refurbish local schools, health facilities, community centres, libraries and local parks for rural and regional communities,” Katrina said.

“Although councils will submit all applications to the fund, community groups are strongly encouraged to identify proposals that meet local aspirations and ensure their councils are aware of their interest in accessing this funding, which is a once-in-a-generation investment in the facilities and services that make our towns and regional cities the best places in NSW to live and work.”

Weddin Shire Council support the new funding opportunity and encourage community groups to nominate projects that fit the funding programme’s guidelines/criteria as well as including a full description of the project and a cost valuation, applications need to be forwarded to Council no later than Thursday July 20, 2017 via email at mail@weddin.nsw.gov.au.

The Stronger Country Communities Fund is part of the NSW Government’s $1.3 billion Regional Growth Fund. Applications for stage one close on August 9.

Visit www.nsw.gov.au/strongercountrycommunities for more information. Organisations are encouraged to keep in touch with Katrina over any proposal they submit through their local council via email at cootamundra@parliament.nsw.gov.au or PO Box 350, Young NSW 2594.